My Motivation as a Designer

My Motivation as a Designer

What motivates me to write?

I could also ask myself this question a dozen time which I think I have and still won’t get a concrete answer.

I am not so sure if I have a particular thing that motivates me to write, I think I just write because It feels nice and even nicer when people read it and tell me how much it helps them, or congratulate me on a well-written article or blog post.

Honestly, I just write because I can, I just write because it probably makes me feel good, I just write because if there’s a chance my writing impacts or adds value to someone’s life out there then maybe I would be adding to humanity, which I think should be the most vital thing for any blogger or writer or anyone. ‘Adding to humanity’ I am a designer and I am not sure how many times I would have to scream to the world that I am dehm good at what I do too, it’s not pride, it’s just a way of reminding myself not to give up on myself and also to remind myself how hard it can be and how I should take it easy on myself if things don’t go the way I want them to.

I have always had this thought that everyone is a designer and that thought still holds. Design is everywhere and in everything we see, design is in the air we breath and in the food we eat, design is in the way we eat, talk, walk and even sleep, design is just what life is, we get to add this process in design to our everyday life, projects and we don’t even know it or recognize how it shapes our lives. Let’s say a great chef gets to arrange the most sophisticated meal to break our pallet and when we see it and taste it, we get to fall in love with it before consuming it, the process that went into making that meal appealing is design. you get to see an amazing skyscraper in the streets of Lagos Island where the high rises are and we get to pause and think to ourselves, how did people get to make something from some piece of paper or a sketch into something real, well its design.

I once read somewhere that GOD is the greatest designer and no one competes with him and I agree, maybe partly because I am Catholic and strongly believe in the existence of a supreme being or partly because if we were to look around at the beauty and the disfunction of this world, we get to see that it all points to a single thing, we can’t be in control and honestly, it’s all by design.

The fact that we understand how things work doesn’t make it less a design than when we don’t, everything was perfectly designed and those who bear the burden of understanding this principle and get to see and apply it firsthand are the designers, sometimes we even get to analyse the fashion in which somethings are terribly designed and then marvel at how beautiful some are perfectly designed, well maybe as a designer, it’s the burden that changes everything and puts things in perspective for us.

So maybe I might have a motivation for writing as a designer, maybe it’s just me trying to enlighten the world on design and how it’s important to understand the importance design play in our everyday life.